LSC Presentation Evening 2018

with No Comments

Lydney’s annual celebration of the preceding years achievements was held last weekend with great enthusiasm and attendance. With the good weather everyone spilled outside at Viney Hill Football Club where the evening got under way with a game of rounders; the result was a draw meaning the parents won the two match summer series 1-0 (previous game held at club champs picnic).

A few gifts of appreciation where presented to our hard working and valued committee and coaching team followed by awards to those hard working folks that have gone the extra mile this year:

  • Effort and Commitment – Karen Young

Karen has not only been undertaking the Secretary role for the last couple of years but she has also worked outside her remit keeping on top of all of our administration and along side others to organise open meets and our club champs.

  • Chairman’s Award – Elaine Sinclair

Very few of us see what Elaine does throughout the year, but she is the first person anybody meets when you join the club and she is tirelessly working behind the scenes keeping our membership in order.

Then came some of our younger swimmers that have achieved a lot this year:

  • Anne’s Cup – Roan Delaney

Roan received this award following his comeback from a serious injury he sustained a year ago.

  • Outstanding Achievement – Lacey Wildin

Lacey picked up this award following selection for the County Team this year.

  • Most Improved Swimmer – Lauren Sears

The hardest decision for the awards panel was the most improved swimmer. So many of our younger swimmers have made huge improvements this year but Lauren just edged out a hand full of swimmers that were very close behind.

  • Swimmers swimmer (Awarded jointly to) – Ella Powell and Aston Froggatt

This years swimmers couldn’t decide between Aston and Ella for this award and judging by the cheers it was a popular decision.

Once the swimmers had collected their trophies, it was time for the club championship awards:

  • 8 & Under Girls – Samiah Jones
  • 10 & Under Girls – Lacey Wildin
  • 10 & Under Boys – Finley Powell
  • 12 & Under Girls (Equal on points and jointly awarded) – Millie Manning and Fifi Pym
  • 12 & Under Boys – Aston Froggatt
  • 14 & Under Girls – Ella Powell
  • 16 & Under Boys – Lysander Waring
  • Open Boys – Alexander Waring

The Squad Swimmers were up next: this year the awards panel chose their swimmers for achievement, effort, team spirit, example to others and attitude to training. The following swimmers picked up the awards for one or more of these categories:

  • Romilly Wildin
  • Will Thomas
  • Beth Sharpe
  • Bea Manning
  • Jed Harding
  • Amber McClean

Club President Norman Sterry was on hand to present all awards including the inaugural presentation of the Jean and Norm Trophy. The swimmers were sad to see Norm have to take a step back from the swimming club over the last two years and wanted to mark Norm and Jeans efforts with the club by introducing a new trophy. The trophy will be awarded to swimmers for Team Spirit and Sportsmanship

  • Jean and Norm Trophy – Ella Powell and Lacey Wildin

The special Plate awards were won by George Brookhouse, Eleanor Flack, Megan Kear, Finley Powell, Lysander Waring, Romilly Wildin, Libby Pym, Bea Manning, Aston Froggatt and Joe Sinclair. No expense is spared on these awards and will be valued by the winners for many years to come!!


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Interested in becoming a member?

%d bloggers like this: